Sri Subramanya

Sri Murugan (Sri Subramanya) is the son of Shiva and Parvati and brother of Sri Ganesha.  He is known by many other names, including Kārttikeya, Subrahmanya,  Arumugan or Shanmukha (one with six faces), Kumāra, Skanda, Vēlan, Saravanabhava and Swaminathan.

According to  Skanda Purana, Sati, the consort of Lord Shiva immolated herself at the Daksha Yagna, which was later destroyed by Shiva. Sati was reborn as Uma, or Parvati. 

Lord Shiva withdrew himself from the universe and engaged himself in yogic meditation in the Himalayas. 

Meanwhile, the demon Surapadman ravaged the earth and tormented all beings. It was realized by the Gods that only the son born of Shiva could lead the gods to victory over Tarakasuran, Surapadman and their demon companions. They plotted with Kamadeva, to shoot a flower arrow at Shiva, as he sat in meditation, so as to make him fall in love with Parvati. When Kamadeva aimed his arrow, Shiva opened his third eye and burned Kama to ashes instantly.  

The sparks of the fiery seed of Shiva were unbearable, and were  transported by the river Ganga through the Saravana forest into a pond called the Saravana Poigai (located at the mouths of river Ganga), where the sparks became six children.They were raised by the six Krittika or Kartika girls – the stars that make up the Pleiades, earning the name Karthikeya. Parvati combined these six babies into one with six faces (hence the names Arumugham or Shanmukha).

Sri Murugan became the supreme general and led the army of the devas to victory against the demons.

The six sites at which Karthikeya rested while leading his armies against Surapadman are Tiruttanikai, Swamimalai, Tiruvavinankudi (Palani), Pazhamudirsolai, Tirupparamkunram and Tiruchendur- all located in Tamil Nadu with famous temples.

The lance called Vel in Tamil is a weapon given to him by his mother Parvathi embodying her energy and power. In the war, using the Vel, deman Surapadman was split into two, and each half was granted a boon by Sri Murugan. The halves, thus turned into the peacock (his mount) and the rooster (the flag of his army).

Sri Murugan is married to two deities, Valli, a daughter of a tribal chief, and Devasena, daughter of Indra.  However, Sri Murugan also is worshiped as ‘Bala Murugan’. In addition to Tamil Nadu, Sri Murugan is also worshiped in Kerala and Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Singapore, North America, Europe and Australia.

Thaipusam is celebrated in the month of Thai (Mid January to Mid February) commemorating the day the Lord was given the Vel or lance by Goddess Parvati to vanquish the demons. Sri Ganesha Temple celebrates this day where all are dressed in yellow and offer the special Paal Kudams (Milk Kalashas) for Sri Muruga Abhishekam followed by a procession for the Mayura Vahanam.

The Panguni Uthiram (Kavadi) festival is celebrated to commemorate Muruga’s wedding in the month of Panguni (Mid March to Mid April) when the star Uthiram and Pournami (full moon) occur together. Sri Ganesha Temple celebrates this festival with a grand procession for devotees who are taking the Kavadi Seva, and singing in the name of Muruga followed by special abhishekam and alankaram.

Vaikasi Visakam or the full moon of the month of Vaikasi (Mid May to Mid June) signifies Muruga’s birth and is observed with a special abhishekam and alankaram on this day at Sri Ganesha Temple.

Skanda Shashti is a six day period of penance and prayer in the Tamil month of Aippasi (Mid October to Mid November) known as the commemoration of the destruction of evil by Sri Murugan. During these six days, Sri Ganesha Temple worships Lord Muruga with daily abhishekams and performs the Soorasamharam and Thirukalyanam on the last day of the festival.

Every month on Shukla Shashti (sixth night of the waxing moon) as well as on the star Krithika. Worship includes the recitation of Kanda Shashti Kavacham, which is believed to remove all evils and miseries and bestow happiness to all devotees.

Monthly Pujas

6:45 pm Shashti Puja
(every month on Shashti)
6:45 pm Krithika Puja
(every month on Krithika Nakshathra)